top of page

The Locksmith's Creed

Oath

I do solemnly vow, to that which I value and hold most dear:

That I will honor the Profession of Locksmithing, be just and generous to its members, and

help sustain them in their service to humanity;

That just as I have learned from those who preceded me, I will instruct those

who follow me in the science and the art of Locksmithing;

That I will recognize the limits of my knowledge and pursue lifelong learning to

better protect people and secure their property;

That I will seek the counsel of others when they are more expert so as to fulfill my

obligation to those who entrust me with their safety and security;

That I will not withdraw from my customers in their time of need;

That I will lead my life and practice my art with integrity and honor, using my

knowledge and ability wisely;

That whatsoever I shall see or hear of the lives of my customers that is not fitting to

be spoken, I will keep in confidence;

That I will disclose, to all whom I serve, what they must know to maintain their security, and the means necessary to maintain that security;

That into whatever home or business I shall enter, it shall be for the safety and protection of the people and property therein;

That I will maintain this sacred trust, holding myself far aloof from wrong, from

corruption, from the tempting of others to vice;

That above all else I will serve the highest interests of my customers through the

practice of my science and my art;

That I will be an advocate for people in need and strive for equality in their

security;

That while I apply my craft for the benefit of my customers in particular, I will always apply discretion in preserving the security of each and every member of the public in general.

I now turn to my calling, promising to preserve its finest traditions, with the reward of a long

experience in the joy of providing protection, safety, and security.

The Locksmith's Creed

A Locksmith always remembers his public trust. With him rests the security of property and fortune. As a public guardian he shuns the dishonest, the wicked and the avaricious. For thousands of years he and his predecessors have placed trust and honor above temptation. His honesty is incorruptible. His allies are the custodians of law and order. He is an artist at his trade and the symbol of skill and integrity to the world.

- M. Leonard Singer (1915 -1987 4th Generation Locksmith)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page